New Year’s Resolution

So this is 2014.

Two years ago, I was an exhausted pregnant lady with nothing to wear on New Year’s Eve. Last year this time, I was an exhausted new mom trying to keep my head above water. Today, I’m a slightly more confident, slightly less exhausted mother of a 20-month-old.

Our family on New Year's Eve 2013. Norah lasted until about 10 p.m. Credit Diana Dias.

Our family on New Year’s Eve 2013. Norah lasted until about 10 p.m. Credit Diana Dias.

I want to learn a new hobby and make a non-self-deprecating resolution.

I’m resolving to step up my gardening game.

Hubby, Norah and I live in a smallish townhouse with an even smaller yard, so I figure it’s manageable. This way, by the time we move into our dream home one day, I’ll be ready to handle larger pastures.

Our humble abode. I like to think of this as the "before" picture.

Our humble abode. I like to think of this as the “before” picture. Credit Dalia Colón.

It’s not that I have a brown thumb — okay, I literally do have two brown thumbs, but you know what I mean — it’s just that I’ve never taken the time to educate myself about what I have growing in those containers. My strategy has always been, water and hope. Sometimes I have basil, sometimes I don’t. Sometimes my flowers live, sometimes they die. Or at least, I think they’ve died so I kick them to the curb. A few months ago, rosemary randomly sprang up in the middle of another potted plant. What the…?

My point is, I want to know what I’m doing. So I’m taking this year to ask the experts, read blogs, download podcasts and get my hands dirty. And because I’m a journalist and blogger by day, I’m writing about it, natch.

Posted on January 2, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

