7 Bible Verses about Gardening

God and gardens go way back. Credit virginia.edu.

God and gardens go way back. Credit virginia.edu.

In addition to becoming a diva of the dirt, my second new year’s resolution is to meditate daily.

That sounds so crunchy granola, I know. But every year I resolve to pray more — that is, more listening to God and less giving Him my list of demands — and every year I fail. Time for a more focused approach. Oprah and Deepak Chopra may be onto something with this meditation stuff.

Gardening is supposed help us become one with creation, right? So I’ll start by meditating on some Scriptures about nature. There are some good online resources for starting a meditation practice, and I’ve already found a few gems:

  • Those who trust in their riches will fall, but the righteous will thrive like a green leaf. ~ Proverbs 11:28

  • “The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of our God endures forever.” ~ Isaiah 40:8

  • Build houses and settle down; plant gardens and eat what they produce. ~ Jeremiah 29:5

  • The Lord will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail. ~ Isaiah 58:11

  • “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.” ~ Matthew 6:28

  • “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” ~ John 15:5

  • So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. ~ 1 Corinthians 3:7

Multitasking my new year’s resolutions kinda goes against the philosophy of meditation, but it’s better than nothing, right?

Now, where was I…?

Posted on January 4, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

