Herb Your Enthusiasm: How to Freeze Cilantro

You say coriander, I say cilantro. Same diff. Credit Dalia Colón.

You say coriander, I say cilantro. Same diff.
Credit Dalia Colón.

You either love cilantro, or you hate it. I happen to love it, but I don’t love buying it. Storing fresh herbs is a race against time.

Case in point: We’re having a cold snap here in Florida (if you consider 50 degrees cold), and this vegetable curry dish would really hit the spot. The recipe calls for only two tablespoons of cilantro, and I’m all about saving money and I feel weird about buying cilantro in a tube. Normally, I would plan all our family’s meals around the leftover cilantro, but that’s the tail wagging the dog.

I decided to try a method I’d read about on theKitchn: freezing fresh herbs in olive oil. Cilantro and oil tend to be partners in crime anyway, so it just makes sense.

You can find the detailed how-to here, but in a nutshell, this is what had happened:

… aaannnd voila!

Success! Into the freezer bag you go. Credit Dalia Colón.

Success! Into the freezer bag you go. Credit Dalia Colón.

I can’t wait to drop one of these bad boys into a pot of chili one day. Now that I know how to preserve an abundance of cilantro, I’ll have to take a stab at growing my own.

Note: There’s another way to freeze herbs that involves a blender, but ain’t nobody got time for that!

Posted on January 5, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

