Testing, Testing: My First Soil Testing Kit

Last weekend, Hubby and I headed to Lowe’s to buy light bulbs and indulge our granite countertop fantasies. (Thanks a lot, HGTV.)

While we were there, I picked up a nifty soil testing kit.

Credit distractify.com.

Credit distractify.com.

No, not that kind of test. This kind:

Yay! A new toy! Credit Dalia Colón.

Yay! A new toy! Credit Dalia Colón.

I'm hoping I've hit pay dirt with this soil testing kit. Credit Dalia Colón.

I’m hoping I’ve hit pay dirt with this soil testing kit.
Credit Dalia Colón.

“Make this season your best growing season ever!” the package promises. “Identify the nutrient content of your soil. Determine the nutrients needed to grow healthy plants.”

Sounds good to me.

Since my bougainvilleas are currently in our living room staying out of the cold, I decided to start with those. I used a tablespoon to scoop some dirt from the pot into a plastic cup. Then, as the kit’s instructions indicated, I dumped said dirt onto a flat surface and mashed it up.

Before I can test the soil, I need to let it dry out overnight. So I’m leaving it on top of the fridge, where curious toddlers and neat-freak husbands won’t find it.

Stay tuned…

Posted on January 8, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

