Pruning: Even Plants Must Learn that Multitasking Has Limits

Gotta start somewhere. Credit Dalia Colón.

Gotta start somewhere. Credit Dalia Colón.

Pruning is another one of those common-sense gardening basics I’ve never tried.

Never mind the fact that I don’t own proper pruning shears. My orange craft scissors, which I’m pretty sure I “borrowed” from my daughter’s preschool to decorate the classroom door for Teacher Appreciation Week, will do for now.

My co-worker Bryan, a self-taught gardening guru, told me that the basic idea is to get my plants to focus. A plant has only so many resources, so I need to help it channel its energy on where it’s being most productive.

This the plant-world equivalent of saying, “Hey, turn off the Real Housewives. Enough with BuzzFeed already. Stop tweeting and get something done.” Or as my college pastor used to say, “Don’t confuse activity with accomplishment.”

Using my bougainvilleas as the guinea pigs, I snipped off the dry, dead-looking limbs and those that had lots of leaves but no flowers.

Bonus: I also learned how to create side-by-side pics in Photoshop.  Thanks, YouTube! Credit: Dalia Colón.

Bonus: I also learned how to create side-by-side pics in Photoshop. Thanks, YouTube! Credit: Dalia Colón.

Only after that did I discover this YouTube video with the promising title “How to trim and understand your bougainvillea!”

How’d I do? What’s your pruning philosophy?

Posted on January 9, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

