‘Just Because’ Flowers, Just for Me

First priority? Moi.  Credit Stuart Miles.

First priority? Moi.
Credit Stuart Miles.

Self-care is not selfish.

I need to tattoo this to my forehead.

As I dropped off Norah at preschool Monday morning, I was my typical harried self: car keys in my hand, diaper bag on my shoulders and 2-year-old in my arms. (I can’t resist Norah’s adorable yet grammatically misguided request to “hold you.”) I was also clutching a small bouquet of wildflowers that I’d brought in for the first day of Teacher Appreciation Week.

In the school hallway, another mom stopped me to admire my offering, asking what type of flowers I was bearing (I had no idea) and whether I’d grown them myself (why yes, thanks for noticing).

I suddenly felt a pang of jealousy for my daughter’s teachers. They got to be on the receiving end of these gorgeous blooms. I used to be the type of person who’d treat myself to those four-for$10 bouquets at the grocery store, but I’m trying to curb my spending.

Then I remembered: These flowers came from my yard. I can have fresh flowers whenever I want.

And so, currently on my dining room table sits a bouquet of “just because” flowers I picked just for myself. I’m learning that, even during Teacher Appreciation Week, it’s okay to put myself on the list.

Posted on April 29, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

