You’ve Got Thyme

My basil has officially gone to that Great Compost Pile in the Sky. Meanwhile, my thyme is off da chain!

All week, I’ve been humming to myself You’ve Got Time, the Orange Is the New Black theme song by Regina Spektor. Love her, love the show.

I’m still not sure how I’ll spend all my thyme, but one of my go-to meals is beans and tomatoes by gastronomic guru Mark Bittman. It calls for fresh thyme, so that was a start. You can get the recipe from Bittman’s How to Cook Everything iPhone app. I love this dish with cornbread.

Last night, I made beans and tomatoes for the umpteenth time. It never gets old to me.

Sadly, I didn’t get around to photographing my own meal. It’s a long story that starts with my 2-year-old refusing to go to sleep and ends with our neighbor dropping by at 10 p.m. to fix our air conditioner. Why do these things always seem to happen when my husband is out of town and the high temperature is 92 degrees? The worst.

Anyway, by the time I sat down to eat, Jon Stewart was on, my cornbread was borderline-burnt and I was too tired to pull out the camera.

There just aren’t enough hours in the day. If only I’d had more thyme time.

Posted on May 10, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

