3 Things on My Summer Gardening Bucket List

One day, I hope to have a big house with a huge garden where I’ll host fabulous Oprah-style brunches by day and sip mojitos with my hubby by night.

But for now, I’m working with a slightly smaller patch of paradise.

As Helen Keller once said, “I cannot do everything, but still I can do something. And because I cannot do everything I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.”

Baby steps, people. Baby steps.

Despite the fact that my deodorant has been failing me for months (TMI?) summer doesn’t officially start until June 21. Before summer turns to fall, here’s what I’m hoping to accomplish:

1) Start a new basil plant. Once upon a time, I had mad basil and was making pesto every week — enough to share with coworkers. It’s time to get back to my roots, so to speak.

2) Plant a pineapple. This is definitely a long-term project. I’ll probably have another child before I see the fruits of this labor. Sure, pineapples are only $1.19 at Aldi. But my hairdresser, Lynda, recently showed me pics of a pineapple she planted two years ago and recently enjoyed. I was a little jealous. Plus, I like the idea of a long-term investment.

3) Plant something pretty. I’m a function-over-fashion girl, but why can’t I have it all? I want to fill my yard with beautiful, edible plants. Maybe some pretty lettuce? I’ve also heard good things about garlic. We’ll see.

So that’s it. Three goals, three months of summer. Seems doable.

What’s on your summer gardening bucket list?

 

 

 

Posted on June 3, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

