5 Places to Find Cheap Gardening Supplies

I’ve been at this gardening thing for about six months now. It was only a matter of time before I started combining my new hobby with my lifelong passion: saving money.

Here are five places where I cut expenses:

Found at Big Lots: good to know. Credit Dalia Colón.

Found at Big Lots: good to know.
Credit Dalia Colón.

1. Big Lots: Last winter, I was desperately searching for a metal pole to hang my strawberry planter. I checked Home Depot, Lowe’s and everywhere else I could think of. No dice. Metal plant hangers are a seasonal item, I was told. Then I happened to be at Big Lots for… something (every time I go in that store, I immediately get distracted by all the cheap toiletries and books). Lo and behold: a metal garden stake. Since then, I’ve found all sorts of gardening goodies at Big Lots: planters, gloves, flags, seed starting kits, tons of seeds. You name it.

2. Dollar Tree: Unlike those other dollar stores, Dollar Tree actually prices everything at $1 or less. I’ve found everything from seed packets to kids’  gardening tools to planters — albeit without holes, but for $1, I’m willing to drill my own.

3. Thrift stores: This is always a roll of the dice, but if you find yourself at the Salvation Army on half-price Wednesday (it’s not just me, right?), it’s worth a look around for old planters.

4. Freecycle: It’s like Craigslist, but everything’s free. During my single days, I furnished my apartment with Freecycle finds. Just sign up for the Freecycle network in your neighborhood, and post a a wanted ad (also free, natch) for a wheelbarrow, hose, seeds or whatever you need. Chances are, someone in your neck of the woods is happy to get rid of it.

5. The curb: It’s like Freecyle, but without the Internet. Folks are always dumping plants that are dead or just not worth the trouble. Even if you don’t go all Rescue 911 on the plant, the pot is still yours for the taking.

Where’s your source for inexpensive gardening supplies?

Posted on June 18, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

