How to Keep Soil from Drying Out

My soil, like my hair, can’t get enough moisture.

I feed and water the plants every morning, but Florida summers be like:

Lawd, have mercy. Credit baynews9.com.

Lawd, have mercy.
Credit baynews9.com.

As my 2-year-old daughter would say, “NO LIKE IT!”

Then in a recent moment of lucidity, I realized the solution to dry, crumbly soil had literally been right in front of me.

Wood chips.

At our townhomes, the landscapers* lay down woodchips around the bushes in front of each house. I helped myself to a few handfuls, scattered the woodchips over the soil of my potted plants, and booyah! I’ve got one less problem.

My peppers have a fighting chance. Credit Dalia Colón.

My peppers have a fighting chance.
Credit Dalia Colón.

Perhaps I should’ve titled this post No Duh.

How do you keep soil from drying out?

* The word landscapers makes our house sound way fancier than it actually is.

 

 

 

Posted on June 28, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

